Wednesday, July 26, 2017

WoW #159: The Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about! 
 
 
The Hanging Girl by Eileen Cook
The Hanging Girl
by Eileen Cook
October 3, 2017
320 pages
 

Goodreads Summary:
Skye Thorn has given tarot card readings for years, and now her psychic visions are helping the police find the town’s missing golden girl. It’s no challenge—her readings have always been faked, but this time she has some insider knowledge. The kidnapping was supposed to be easy—no one would get hurt and she’d get the money she needs to start a new life. But a seemingly harmless prank has turned dark, and Skye realizes the people she’s involved with are willing to kill to get what they want and she must discover their true identity before it’s too late.
 
I enjoyed Eileen Cook's last book so looking forward to this new one of hers~

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Review: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas


Little Monsters by Kara Thomas
Little Monsters
by Kara Thomas
July 25, 2017
336 pages


Goodreads Summary:
For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.


Monday, July 24, 2017

Blog Tour - Re-imagining Dragons & Giveaway: The Dragons of Nova (The Loom Saga #2) by Elise Kova


The Dragons of Nova Blog Tour banner

Hello everyone! Today on the blog I have author Elise Kova here to talk about her inspiration behind writing about dragons! If you haven't picked up the first book The Alchemists of Loom, you really should; The Dragons of Nova is a brilliant sequel!


The Dragons of Nova by Elise KovaThe Dragons of Nova
(The Loom Saga #2)
by Elise Kova
July 11, 2017
488 pages

Goodreads Summary:
Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust -- hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything -- and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.

While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills -- and quick-shooting accuracy -- makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.

Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Stacking the Shelves #154


Stacking the Shelves button

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews that lets us share what we've added to our shelves.


Thank you so much HBG Canada and S&S Canada for these! I can't wait to read both of them!

Pickles' precious haul.

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Friday, July 21, 2017

Review: The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell


The Last Magician by Lisa MaxwellThe Last Magician
by Lisa Maxwell
July 18, 2017
512 pages


Goodreads Summary:
Stop the Magician.
Steal the book.
Save the future.

In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. The remaining few who have an affinity for magic—the Mageus—live in the shadows, hiding who they are. Any Mageus who enters Manhattan becomes trapped by the Brink, a dark energy barrier that confines them to the island. Crossing it means losing their power—and often their lives.

Esta is a talented thief, and she's been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order that created the Brink. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta's training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book containing the secrets of the Order—and the Brink—before the Magician can destroy it and doom the Mageus to a hopeless future.

But Old New York is a dangerous world ruled by ruthless gangs and secret societies, a world where the very air crackles with magic. Nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself. And for Esta to save her future, she may have to betray everyone in the past.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...